Sequoyah County District Judges

Judge Jeffrey J. Payton

Jeffrey J. Payton - District Judge

John Jeffrey Payton was born September 27, 1963 in Muskogee, Oklahoma. Graduated from Muskogee High School in 1981 and continued his education attending the University of Oklahoma and graduating in 1986 with a Bachelor's Degree in Political Science and History. Payton earned his Juris Doctorate in 1991 from the University of Tulsa School of Law and was admitted to practice law by the Oklahoma Supreme Court in April 1992. Later that year he was admitted to practice in the United States District Court in and for the Eastern, Northern, and Western Districts of Oklahoma as well as the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Payton began private practice with his father Lloyd Payton at the Payton Law Firm in Muskogee Oklahoma where he practiced until appointed to the bench. Payton left his successful practice in 2001 upon being selected Special District Judge for the 15th Judicial District by the elected Judges of the East Central Judicial District. He served as Special Judge until 2007 when he was elected District Judge for the 15th Judicial District where he serves today as Chief Judge for Sequoyah and Adair Counties. He has also served as Presiding Judge for the East Central District from 2013 thru 2014 and elected as Chairman of the board for the Oklahoma Judges Association in 2015. Payton is currently a member of the Court on the Judiciary Appellate Division, having previously served two years as a member of the Court on the Judiciary Trial Division. Payton currently resides in Adair County Oklahoma.

Judge Kyle E. Waters

Kyle E. Waters - Associate District Judge

Judge Matt Orendorff

Matt Orendorff - Special Judge